Can Your Theology Handle What’s Going On In #Ferguson?

That was a question posed on twitter last night. And it intrigues me as to what most  UUs would say to answer the question.

And while you’re thinking about that, can your theology handle the results published in the article, “The Essence of Innocence: Consequences of Dehumanizing Black Children”? (if you don’t feel like reading the article, you can read the press release, which I copied here)

So much for “inherent worth and dignity”.

I’m a little too mad to continue writing at the moment. More later.

One thought on “Can Your Theology Handle What’s Going On In #Ferguson?

  1. I think you’ve asked the question in a very pertinent way by posting the link to that paper.

    Quite a few old-time UUs have no theology, but they do have science. There are a lot of that kind of UU in my congregation. And as an atheist and a materialist, I feel some level of familiarity there. However, I’ve also noticed that it’s almost never social science that’s in question. Physics and mathematics (my near-minor and my degree subject, which I do love), yes, and occasionally some biology.

    Now you’ve just issued a challenge (this is how I see it–I don’t mean to speak for you) to their theology: Can your scientific view of the world encompass the facts presented by social science?

    I hear your anger. I’m hoping our local NMOS14 tonight at the state capitol can help me direct mine.

Leave a Reply

