Why Can’t Medicare/Medicaid Negotiate Prescription Drug Prices?

I’m not the brightest bulb in the lamp, but I’m not the dimmest either. So I’m going to ask the question that has been with me for a while.

If Medicare and Medicaid costs need to be contained AND prescription drug costs are a big part of that; why, in the name of all that is holy, is it federal law that Medicare and Medicaid cannot negotiate drug prices with big pharma?

Why is it that the rest of the advanced industrialized West spends less on drugs than the US does?

3 thoughts on “Why Can’t Medicare/Medicaid Negotiate Prescription Drug Prices?

  1. The reason Medicare/Medicaid can’t negotiate drug prices, is because negotiating got negotiated out of some applicable bill, sometime in the last five (?) years or so. The pharmaceutical companies did not want to negotiate those prices of course, and in order to speed up the bill AARP decided to drop their concern with the issue….. which made me decide to drop AARP. It made me furious then, and still does, and I doubt I’ll ever decide that AARP is pro-seniors.

  2. Great blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere? A theme like yours with a few simple adjustments would really make my blog jump out.

Leave a Reply

