I Might Not Be Cheap, But I’m Easy…or Mitt Romney Thinks My Vote Could’ve Been Bought

The L.A. Times reports on a conference call that Mitt Romney had with top donors this afternoon. According to the article, Mr. Romney said that the reason that President Obama won is because the administration had given “gifts” to African Americans, Latinos, and young voters.

Well…I’m still waiting for my gift. And since Mr. Romney thinks that minority voters and youth voters can be bought, why didn’t he come up with a better pay-out? I might not be cheap, but I am easy. All I want is Shaquille O’Neal and an apartment on the Upper West Side. And I’m sure all the other minorities who are waiting for their gifts don’t have long lists either.

I get that losing is painful. Really, I get that. But to blame it on blacks, or Latinos, or young people who have somehow been “bought off” is non-sense. To say that the only reason that minority voters or young voters voted for President Obama is because they could be bought off is an insult. Insulting entire groups of people by saying that they are so weak and needy they could be bought off to vote a particular way is not going to endear the party that says those things to the electorate.

I have a price. Everybody has a price (even if few want to admit it). For most of us, our price has little to do with how we vote.

Somebody needs to tell Mitt Romney that.

2 thoughts on “I Might Not Be Cheap, But I’m Easy…or Mitt Romney Thinks My Vote Could’ve Been Bought

  1. The gift of the possibility of bettering our lives, of being able to afford medical care, of being able to afford to go to college, the possibility of being able to find a job that pays more than minimum wage. The gift of hope . The gift of the American dream . …. (well, yeah, I guess M.R. wasn’t really thinking about that kind of gift… The next folks running sure need to think of it…)

  2. Mitt says stupid things. And, he certainly doesn’t know how to lose, gracefully or not. These problems are part of why he lost the election, although it really was no contest. And, if he thinks that over half the electorate can be bought, why didn’t he? (Prezzies always welcome.) I’d like to say, instead of half the country disregarding him, now everyone should, but I guess he’s still “relevant”. I MUST stand up for the relevance of everyone.

Leave a Reply

