The Hatred of Niggas Anywhere Is the Hatred of Niggas Everywhere (Looking At the Sikh Gurdwara Shooting)

Here’s the fact: the list of niggas never gets shorter, it only gets longer.

On September 11,2001 “Arabs” became niggas. And in the irrational ways of hate, anybody who –looks like– those  niggas become niggas-by-perception/association. So Sikhs, Jains, turban-wearing Hindus, and anybody else who idiots think belong to that group are Arab-niggas-by-perception/association.

So…before the discussion of the Sikh Gurdwara shooting descends into the tired and played-out  gun control/gun rights debate, can we have the real discussion please? The real discussion of how/why, after all the work that has been done, the list of niggas keeps growing. The real discussion of how/why economic insecurity breeds the anger[I hear you Bunny], fear, hate, and paranoia that results in the nigga-zation of everybody who doesn’t fall into the WASP group (whether by birth or assimilation).  The real discussion of how/why this country is always in need of “boogeymen”.

The shooting at the Sikh Gurdwara in the suburbs of Milwaukee is a tragedy. It will be an even greater tragedy if we skip the real conversations that need to happen and move like automatons to the discussions that make too many people hunker down in their corners.

12 thoughts on “The Hatred of Niggas Anywhere Is the Hatred of Niggas Everywhere (Looking At the Sikh Gurdwara Shooting)

  1. Just before I read your comments, I posted a few words about some of the Sikh’s that I knew in LA. We talked about 1960s popular culture, modern movies, and the beauty of the Sierras and backpacking. They were nowhere near the shooting, but when I think of the killings, I think about how easily they could have been the victims. And of course, how easily all of those who are different in a multitude of different ways could have been the victims.

  2. Visibility is the thing that comes to mind first. (Assuming a lot of free floating anger looking for a target.) I have a Polish neighbor who has a good job, an accent, red hair, and is extremely pale. I heard that one of the hating crowd referred to her as a “moon faced bitch”. It was harder to spot strangers in the days when my ancestors were called hillbillies and mackeral snappers and easier for those ancestors to leave behind the grandmother who used a magnifying glass to light her pipe. Now, if burkhas were made mandatory……… BTW, I’ve been reading up on Sikhism, and love it in it’s early phase before fighting back seemed the only way to survival. Even so, they are being wonderfully gentle in the face of this massacre. BTW #2, I’ve advised my children to move to Canada “after I’m gone”. It will have a fine climate what with warming & an undisputed medical system, they will still have lobster when NE’s are gone, and they don’t shoot each other in groups. Bunny

  3. Pingback: ‘Don’t shoot people,’ going through the storm, and more UU blogging « uuworld.org : The Interdependent Web

  4. When I first saw the n-word in the title, I was going to skip this post. I’m glad I didn’t. It’s making me rethink some things.

  5. I don’t have anything to add, but I thought much the same thing when the first reports about the shooting came out.

    Have you heard about the shooting near Texas A&M?

  6. Would be great if there such honest and emotional blog posts everyday.

    Diana (another visitor from Calista’s blog)

  7. Wow. The “n” word used in a blog post where it is not offensive. I am in awe of that.

    But do you seriously think the list of “n”-word people is really growing longer? I don’t know what to think about it.

  8. I’m impressed! You are very open and clear in your explanation of what you think the issues are. Thanks for sharing. Looking forward to more!

Leave a Reply

