Do You Really Need The Hymnal To Sing “This Little Light Of Mine”?

C’mon now people…it’s “This Little Light of Mine”. Do you really have to hang on to hymnal to sing this song? It’s not like the words change. It’s not like we’re talking about “Rock of Ages” (not the one in the grey hymnal, the other one) or “A Mighty Fortress” or “Love Divine, All Loves Excelling” or even “Lift Every Voice” and “Blue Boat Home”—songs which, even if you are familiar with them, a hymnal might be helpful for any number of reasons.

But “This Little Light of Mine”? Really?

One thought on “Do You Really Need The Hymnal To Sing “This Little Light Of Mine”?

  1. Whenever I see any reference to “This Little Light Of Mine” all I can think about is lighting a flaming chalice under the U*U of Unitarian Universalist hypocrites. . . 😉

    BTW is verse 3 of ‘This Little Light Of Mine‘ included in the U*U hymnal or was it found to be “less than welcome” in U*U churches and thus “memory holed” or modified to remove reference to Jesus and/or Satan?

    Verse 3
    [edit]V. 1
    Jesus gave it to me/I’m gonna let it shine
    Jesus gave it to me/I’m gonna let it shine
    Jesus gave it to me/I’m gonna let it shine
    Let it shine/Let it shine/Let it shine
    [edit]V. 2
    Don’t let the Satan blow it out/I’m going to let it shine
    Don’t let the Satan blow it out/I’m going to let it shine
    Don’t let the Satan blow it out/I’m going to let it shine
    Let it Shine/All the time/Let it shine/Oh yeah!

Leave a Reply

