Sick And Tired Of Being Sick And Tired…or Is There A Difference Between UUism And Rotary International?

So I’m on the ‘Congregations and Beyond’ Facebook page and I keep hearing that language is a problem and that we shouldn’t be using words like “ministries” or “congregation” or “theology”.  And because I think that those words, all religious words really, are important, this conversation is making me feel like I’m some 19th century holdover (even though I know that I probably wouldn’t have been a U or U in the 19th century).

All of this leads me to ask this question…if we as a religious community aren’t supposed to use religious words, what makes UUism different than the town Rotary Club?

4 thoughts on “Sick And Tired Of Being Sick And Tired…or Is There A Difference Between UUism And Rotary International?

  1. “what makes UUism different than the town Rotary Club?”

    Well, since you asked Kim. . . 🙂

    The Rotary Club has about 10X as many active adult members than the UUA (i.e. 1.2 million members world-wide). Rotary Club members probably have rather more commitment to “Service Above Self” in support of education and job training, providing clean water, combating hunger, improving health and sanitation etc. than most UUs do. And Rotary has 34X as many *clubs* than the UUA (i.e. 34,000 clubs worldwide) . I *could* go on but I am sure U*Us get the picture. . .

    This has been a “be careful what you U*Us ask for lest you get it” moment courtesy of The Emerson Avenger.

    As an added bonus I am providing a link to this educational & entertaining U*UTube video of my “alternative spiritual practice” in support of the education of DIM Thinking U*Us U*U World-wide in front of the Unitarian Club Of Montreal last Sunday.

  2. And are people dropping the words “religious,” “ministry, “theology” in deference to the few who are uncomfortable with them?

    If not, it sounds to me as if the idea that “we as a religious community aren’t supposed to use these words” is not very widespread. Carry on. Bill and I are right there with you and, from looking around at the folks in the congregations I’ve served, including oh-so-humanist Palo Alto, so are most UUs.

    There’s plenty of room for those who prefer different language for what they do (and they’re here in Palo Alto too). Me, I’m going to keep using the language of religion because religion is what I’m doing. It hasn’t gotten me fired yet.

Leave a Reply

