Sing Like You Mean It….or Why UUs Don’t Do Gospel (well) pt. 3

Thanks to both Scott Wells and Chalicechick for making me realize that I’ve been using the wrong words to get my point across.

I’ve used gospel music as my example because it’s the most glaring one for me when I’m in UU circles. That, however, is just part of a larger point that I haven’t made as well as I should. So I’m going to put it in the simplest language that I can.

Sing like you mean it!!!!!!!!!

Sing as if you actually think that music in worship is not just for the professionals. Sing as if you actually enjoy being around the group of people that you’re with. Sing as if you actually think that music is an important part of worship.

I don’t particularly care which song you are singing…..from “Spirit of Life”, “Siyahamba” and “Blue Boat Home” to “Forward Through The Ages” and “O God, Our Help In Ages Past”, sing it as if you mean it. These songs are in the service for a reason. Somebody took the time to pick them out. The very least you could do is respect that person (or persons as the case may be) and actually SING.

This is what I’m talking about when I used the Revelation text. Don’t be lukewarm when you sing. Choose which you’re going to be….cold or hot…..but this lukewarm mess has just got to stop. I can’t take it anymore.

2 thoughts on “Sing Like You Mean It….or Why UUs Don’t Do Gospel (well) pt. 3

  1. I hope you’ll find your way to Nashville one of these days as you’re touring UU churches and examining the ways we do worship. At the very least, pick up a copy of our new choir CD (which will be coming out in the next month or two) and you’ll hear a whole range of musical styles (gospel, calypso, reggae, disco, blues, jazz, classical and more), all sung like we damn-well mean it (’cause we do!). And the songs are all taken from our new hymnal supplement, “Singing the Journey.”

    On Sunday mornings, we have a range of musical styles that reflect and fit with the topic of the day. You won’t get tambourines every week – not because we can’t do it, but because our experience is that doing it “big” every week doesn’t honor the ebb and flow of our communal/personal spiritual lives. What I don’t get is why people think that just adding drums or taking hymns at a faster tempo will make things “lively.” Personally, I think it’s the people that are alive or not spiritually, and that is evident as soon as they open their mouths no matter what style of music they are singing.

  2. I don’t know If I said it already but …Cool site, love the info. I do a lot of research online on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

Leave a Reply

