Taking James Luther Adams Seriously….New Testament People in an Old Testament World part 4

Philocrites has asked me how to explain how the numinous would show concern to those who are oppressed. Let me say that I’m working on it.

My ultimate goal (I think) is to develop a Liberation theology for those who, like me, struggle with the idea of a personal God or don’t believe in God at all. And I see a lot of JLA and Theodore Parker in my future.

But I’m going to make a really quick statement that I think that it’s time for U/U/UUs to take JLA seriously. We NEED to be prophetic.

There is more that I plan on saying, but I want to do stuff for class tonight. More to come.

One thought on “Taking James Luther Adams Seriously….New Testament People in an Old Testament World part 4

  1. “The old testament was written by my people…the Jewish People, and every Sunday I turn on TV and watch Christian Ministers reading from: MY BOOK and SCREWING IT UP. I am here to tell you that there are Jews who live among you and they will, if asked, take time from their Jewy Jew lives and interpret the old testament for you. That is, if the price is right.” -Comic Lewis Black

    Boiled down, its an interesting point.

Leave a Reply

