In Defense of Rick Warren pt. 2

I knew I was going to be in the minority among UUs when it came to not having a problem with Rick Warren delivering the invocation at the Inauguration. Hell….I’m already a minority in UUism 2 ways so there’s nothing new there.

Here’s the question; is this uproar because this is Rick Warren? Or would it have happened with any minister who was anti-choice and against gay marriage?

Next question……who gets to determine who gets to speak at a particular ceremony? Would you allow Rick Warren to do the invocation anywhere?

Here’s a scenario……..if I am ever lucky enough to be ordained there are two people I would want to be part of my ordination service. Both of them are against gay marriage. One of them is really anti-choice. Are you saying that I shouldn’t have them as part of my service? At what point does personal relationship trump people’s ideology.

Now back to the Inauguration…..there have been both racists and anti-Semetic ministers who have given the invocation. Anti-gay-rights ministers too. Anti-non-believers too. (And let’s not act as if there haven’t been U/U/UU ministers that fit in those categories.) How many people remember who gave the invocation the next day? And how much outrage is being used against a symbol rather than the actual problem?

I don’t think it’s wrong to voice displeasure at the choice. I think that the way the displeasure is being voiced will not get you heard. There are ways to talk to allies/friends about the hard issues in a way that does not make continuing the conversation impossible.

I don’t know if that makes any sense. I might try again later.

5 thoughts on “In Defense of Rick Warren pt. 2

  1. When Obama invited this “christian” to his speak at his inauguration, he invited a man who believes the Q-community are INFERIOR; “less than”. Let’s quit sugar-coating these turds! Being asked to “respect other’s opinions” doesn’t fly when those “opinions” are harmful lies about an entire segment of the population. Those “opinions” are tantamount to the extremely offensive beliefs and ideas our country once had about “negros” and “wives”, words and ideas that would NEVER FLY TODAY at an inauguration.

    Words and ideas that would incite riots today.

    When Rick “defined” our entire Q-community, it became clear that HE was the one suffering from immaturity, since he clearly limits his entire WORLD VIEW of homo-lovin-ality to 20-something, single and horned-up gay men.

  2. I’m just gonna call you out on your own scenario, Kim, because nobody was talking about that level. I love your blogs, but I don’t think anyone would comment on who you can invite to your ordination. I, for one would love to be there and cheer you on.

    Also, I am an African American too, so I see your minority statement and raise you a liberal radical chip. I’ve been the minority within the UU too, twice since where I am, the other blacks do not dare speak up.

    I will also answer your other question: I would have been angry at any minister who was involved in a polliical campaign of bigotry. Just as I have no stomache for Jefferson I have no stomache for Warren: both supported evil. That is what bigotry is: evil.

    As a minority who is old enough to remember the times of worse racism, or at least more open, I cannot rationalize any concessions here.

    I really wish I knew how, my life would be easier, but my liberalism must be defined by my support of the oppressed who are not like me, not by my demands for myself or others similar. As a Philly native black man who lived in the Southwest and now lives in a conservative region of Pa I know the vile taste of bigotry and I truly can never rationalize when it is applied to others because someone I liked allows it to occur. That person is wrong and I must stand with my LBGT family on it.

    Everything about the presidency is political. Due to the historical significance of this presicency that is turbo charged. Also, nations, like religions, operate and speak through symbolism.

    Have anti-gay rights ministers spoken in the past? Not germaine, because we are living in this moment. This is where Obama can reach out to a people who could sure use his hand.

    “Evil happens when good men do nothing” It also propegates when good people avert their eyes in the name or pollitical expediancy.

    Hope that makes sense. If it doesn’t…well it’s 1:00am

  3. Obama’s a natural fit with mega church pastors. He’s long known it. He’s gone to Churches that emulate mega churches. Rev Meeks has long partnered with Bill Hybels here in Chicago. Obama caught fire in the democratic senate primary in the western burbs were we have plenty of these mega churches before he fired up the AA community in Chicago.

    Warren as popular author and preacher is very similar to our Obama as popular author and political preacher. They both know that and respect each other.

    As our Gov in Illinois would say, an invocation is a bleeping valuable thing, and I’m not going to give it away for bleeping noting.

    Rest assured Warren and Obama are scratching each others backs somehow. No one from Chicago offers anything for just bleeping appreciation. Obama’s probably returning a favor for Warren’s invite and they both expect a long, productive partnership during the administration… faith grants and all. That’s how we practice politics in Chicago.

  4. Well, Bill, that’s how politics can be practiced everywhere. That doesn’t mean that’s how it will be. I’ve been involved in enough campaigns to know that the level of hyper pollitical cynnicism is usuallyn it akways, but usually inversely proportonal to the amount of actual pollitical experiance. I may not like what Obama’s done, but I’m not ready to claim him a shock trooper in a vast rightwing religious conspiracy….yet.

Leave a Reply

