The Harlot By the Side of the Road, or Reading Bawdy Bible Stories In Church

So I was asked to do the service at church on Nov. 30th.  I had no problem saying yes and had no problem picking out my topic.  Didn’t have any problems picking out the readings or the music.  Everything fit into place really well.

The one thing that got comment though, aside from how much people liked my sermon, was that I used the story of Judah and Tamar (Genesis 38 for all you home players) as one of my readings.  Even before I came to seminary, Judah and Tamar was one of my favorite Bible stories.  And I must say that I never considered it all that sexy (I guess reading romance novels makes my bar for what is sexy fairly high).  So since that story really did fit my sermon topic I just used it.

So after church I was told (by the person who asked me to preach) that I had read the raunchiest story ever from that pulpit.  One of my friends (who is Catholic, but comes to our church) laughingly said “Now that’s one that the doesn’t show up in the lectionary.”

This has me thinking, why don’t we talk about the “sexier” stories in the Bible more often?  They would give many different sermons. They would introduce Bible stories that most in the pew haven’t heard.  And it would get people to ask questions afterward.

That’s it for now, more later.

One thought on “The Harlot By the Side of the Road, or Reading Bawdy Bible Stories In Church

  1. Have you seen The X-Rated Bible by Ben Edward Akerley?

    http://www.amazon.com/X-Rated-Bible-Irreverent-Survey-Scriptures/dp/0922915555/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1228269883&sr=1-1

    In one section of this book, he comments on the story about Solomon and the two mothers (1 Kings 3:16-28) and how so many details in the story are left out of most child book of Bible stories.

    He re-tells this story in the style of a child’s book but includes the missing details (like the occupation of the mothers and the likely unknown paternity status of the baby).

Leave a Reply

