When and Where I Enter….”I Am Black and Beautiful” continues

As some of you may remember, a little while back I talked about doing a project for my First(Old) Testament class that was going to be about African women in the First Testament, using Song of Solomon 1:5 as my base. Since I’m going to turn in my proposal today I thought I would give a little update.

I have decided that my project is going to be a collage of different black women and I’m going to call it “When and Where I Enter” (taking the title from the Paula Giddings book). The full title will be When and Where I Enter: Portrayals of Women of African Descent in the First Testament.

The hardest part so far has been finding reference materials that talk about the African presence in the First Testament. I’ve found a few, but one would think that there would be more out there. Guess diversity training hasn’t hit biblical scholarship yet.

So, that’s where I’m at. More after my proposal is either accepted or rejected.

Leave a Reply

