“I Am Black and Beautiful”…..Africa, The Bible and Church History

Taking another break from things UUA-related, I thought I would update everyone on my thinking as far as classes are concerned.

For those of you who don’t remember, I have a biographical essay and research paper due in Church History and a project in First (Old) Testament.

I have picked the subject for the biographical essay; Heloise.

However, I had been having a really hard time trying to decide what to do for the research paper and the project. Then it came to me. “I am black and beautiful, o daughters of Jerusalem, like the tents of Kedar, like the curtains of Solomon.” For those of you who don’t know that is Song of Songs 1:5. Once that line came into my head I decided…I’m going to do the research paper in Church History about the African connections in early church history. And I am going to talk about the women who might be black/African in the First Testament. yee haw!

So if anyone reading this has any books to suggest or articles that might be of interest to me, drop me a line. I’m already looking stuff up, but it helps to have more than one mind thinking about this kind of stuff.

4 thoughts on ““I Am Black and Beautiful”…..Africa, The Bible and Church History

  1. Thanks for the links Robin. I did know about some of them, but it always helps to hear about them someplace else.

    I’m going to visit the theological reference librarian tomorrow and see what else is out there that I may be forgetting.

Leave a Reply

