The Women of Church History, Part 2

Chuck B. asks:

Yeah: Why not do one about the impact of Viola Liuzzo on the current presidential campaign?

I thought I would post my answer in public. Here it is:

Since these projects are in my Church History 1 class, for the purposes of those projects the woman (or women) that I am looking for must have lived prior to Martin Luther nailing the 95 Theses to the door at Wittenberg in 1517.

Viola Liuzzo doesn’t fit into that model.

Aside from that, I don’t see Viola Liuzzo as having much impact on the current political campaign. If I were going to pick a woman whom I think does have an impact on the current campaign it would be Fannie Lou Hamer. But that may be because I think many of us have had the “I’m sick and tired of being sick and tired” moments.

Leave a Reply

