A Note From Across The Miles

Got an email from E. today. Her move to Philadelphia went well and she has fallen in love with the neighborhood that her house is in.

After doing her Quaker things this summer and also after her 2-week intensive in Richmond she will start her year-long CPE at the University of Pennsylvania Hospital.

I am so happy for her and yet at the same time feeling sad for myself. It’s going to be interesting being in Richmond without her there to bounce ideas and funny thoughts off of. She was the one person I knew “got” me in Richmond. I don’t know what it’s going to be like without her. Don’t get me wrong, I really am happy for her because she needed this move. I’m just going through a bout of self-pity.

Anyway…it was nice to hear from her and know that the move went well. And I do get to see her in August; so this bout of self-pity will only last another day or so.

Leave a Reply

