When In Prayer, LISTEN

This is not going to be a rant on the new UUA ad in TIME. While I have many problems with it, I won’t go into them now.

What I do want to riff on for a few lines is partly what Peacebang in her post on the new ad was getting at; why would we tell anybody to doubt their prayers, especially after telling them that in times of doubt prayer is a good thing to do?

Yes, I can tell that I’m now spending my time with Quakers. Because I truly believe that what the second line should have said was: When In Prayer, Listen.

Prayer is the time when one is supposed to be in contact with that which is beyond us. To tell people to doubt that contact is unproductive to say the least. But to not tell them to listen for the still, small voice of reason/care/concern is criminal.

There is more that I could write, but I guess I should get on with my Theology paper that due Thursday.

One thought on “When In Prayer, LISTEN

  1. “Prayer is the time when one is supposed to be in contact with that which is beyond us. To tell people to doubt that contact is unproductive to say the least. But to not tell them to listen for the still, small voice of reason/care/concern is criminal.”

    Then I guess that makes the UUA’s ad “criminal”. Of course I can think of some other things that the UUA is responsible for that are more deserving of that description.

Leave a Reply

