Fear of Black Sexuality

I don’t even know where to begin about today.

We talked about lynching in US Church History this morning. Now I can talk about slavery with no problems. I can talk about Jim and Jane Crow with the same ease. Lynching is something all together different.

When I was a child, I learned the story of Emmett Till. As a child, the idea of a child being killed was what affected me. The older I get however, the more I am affected by WHY Emmett was killed. Fear; straight up fear. Fear that what black men, no matter what their age,  really were about was being sex-crazed about white women.

And then there’s the other side of the myths……that we black women are sexually indiscriminate and have no virtue at all. That we can be used by all without worry.

What is it about black sexuality? Why are there so many myths and misconceptions about us? Why have we internalized them so much? How has this harmed us? Is there any way that this can be changed?

All of this from a very brief discussion of lynching. I might decompress; then again maybe not. 

One thought on “Fear of Black Sexuality

Leave a Reply

