A New Appreciation of Emerson

For US Church History today we had to read the Divinity School Address.

I must admit that I have never been an Emerson fan. I’ve always thought of him as a little too pompous for my taste. This time, though, reading the Address took on a different meaning.

I got it.

How many of us don’t have some complaint about the church that, if we had the chance, we would talk about in front of a crowd(especially a crowd of fellow religionists)? How would we sound? What would we say was missing? And what would we propose to correct it?

It was also interesting reading it in a Quaker setting. As contemporary¬†Quakers and U/U/UUs have much in common, it was very fun to talk about “my people”.

That said……I will still never be an Emerson fan. But after class today, I have a much greater appreciation for him and his place in the Unitarian symphony.

One thought on “A New Appreciation of Emerson

Leave a Reply

