Paul’s View On The Role Of Women In Church

I know I mentioned before that I have a paper to write for my New Testament class. And as you can see from the title of this post it’s about Paul.

I’ve had more fun doing research on this than I thought I would. And while the paper is writing itself, I’ve found that there is one person that I wish I had more time and information to talk about. Thecla. What a fascinating woman! Her name came up more times than any other woman in the ATLA pages. Anybody know where I can get more info on her?

As to today…..the presentation in US Church History went well. Since I had chosen Boston as my region, I knew I wouldn’t have too many problems. What was interesting though was how much Newport and Providence came up in my research into early Boston.

Tomorrow is Theology 101 day. The topic will be “The Holy Spirit and the Christian Life”. That should be fun.

2 thoughts on “Paul’s View On The Role Of Women In Church

  1. Acts of Paul and Thecla is definitely an interesting way to go with Paul and gender. I always end up contrasting the positions in the more likely authentic Pauline Epistles with the less likely authentic Epistles.

  2. Hi James. I have decided that what I’m going to do is first talk about Jesus’ view and work with women. Then I’ll deal with the two biggest parts of scripture that are attributed to Paul (1 Cor 11:2-16 and 1 Tim 2:9-15). Finally, I’ll make a special note about Thecla and say that I think there is more that we could learn about the early church if we looked at the Acts of Paul and Thecla.
    This is supposed to be a short paper (6-8 pages), so I won’t be able to do too much; which might be a good thing.

Leave a Reply

