I Still Like Paula Deen

I’m going to shock a lot of you by saying the following:

I assume that all white people have said the word “nigger” at least once in their life, until proven otherwise.

Here’s the next shocker:

I’ll take Paula Deen’s whatever-type of racism over the non-nigger-calling but more insidious racism anyday.

So I will continue to buy “Cooking with Paula Deen” magazine. I will buy her next cookbook. I will continue to watch her when she is on the “Today” show–or any other show for that matter.

And I will continue to be exasperated with the hoopla over incidents like this while at the same time there is continued silence over real issues of race/racism that need to be addressed.

3 thoughts on “I Still Like Paula Deen

  1. Dare I ask if this is an insidious poke at the non-nigger-calling but more insidious racism practiced by certain Unitarian Universalists?

    Just asking. . . ;-)

    Robin Edgar aka The White Nigger* Of The U*U World

    * There, I said it. :-)

  2. Pingback: General Assembly, the Supreme Court, and more UU conversation « uuworld.org : The Interdependent Web

Leave a Reply

